A Holy Instant Strung Together Becomes Holy Hours

A friend of mine, with the help of his ex-partner and now partner, has raised his niece since she was a teenager, and her Mom died young. She was like a daughter to him. Nearly 3 weeks ago, she was discovered dead in her bed. Only 33 years old. Clearly, this is not supposed to be how it happens, according to the world. The autopsy has shown no reason for her death.

I told him, when the time came, I would help him with her apartment. He said, no thank you, we will manage it.

I received a call on Friday night. He said, if you are still interested in helping us, I’d like you to come by and check it out before you agree to anything. This particular Holy Child of God appeared to love to collect things.

When I arrived, their grief was covering them like a sorry shroud. Now add to that: shame, disbelief, guilt, and of course, lots and lots of anger. I took a look, and said, no problem, I’ll be here tomorrow morning to help. Fortunately, I have no personal stake in this and can be with them as an observer, as well as a worker bee. I also realized what a beautiful classroom was being presented to me, thank You very much.

I emailed one of my ACIM/KnowThySelf Retreat buddies, who is brilliant. I explained what was going on and she said to remember the niece is not guilty, nobody is guilty. You will see it and then they can see it. Good God, of course! That is brilliant Kay, and I am so deeply appreciative to you for reminding me.

When I arrived the next morning, they had already begun the clearing, along with the former partner. My buddy then began to bitch about our Holy Child of God. I said, wait wait, our only job is to love Becky today. He shouted to the others: Sally said we can only love Becky today! Every time something appeared as some kind of made-up mess, one of us would say: Bless you Becky! And an amazing thing happened. By giving this all up to Holy Spirit, by only loving her, we literally moved mountains in the next 6 hours. Just like Jesus said we could!

We were all giddy by the end of the day with what we had accomplished. Really, at the beginning it looked quite insurmountable, but with our joining together, in Love, we were able to accomplish something that should have taken many, many days.

Today, over 24 hours later, that Love has impacted my life in so many ways, I am having a hard time keeping track of it. What started out as a single Holy Instant, is now being strung together to many many hours, and oh yeah, I am so getting this is how it is supposed to be 🙂

Much Love and Pink Clouds,
Sally

Leave a Reply

